Whether you are charged with a simple assault, an aggravated assault or a more serious violent crime such as homicide, hiring an experienced and skilled attorney can be crucial to the outcome of your case. Silva Law has over 15 years of experience dedicated to representing clients charged with violent crimes.
What is the definition of assault under the laws in Tennessee?
In Tennessee, the law defines an assault when a person:
(1) Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another;
(2) Intentionally or knowingly causes another to reasonably fear imminent bodily injury; or
(3) Intentionally or knowingly causes physical contact with another and a reasonable person would regard the contact as extremely offensive or provocative.
What are the punishments for assault in Tennessee?
Assault is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 11 months and 29 days in jail if the state can prove that the defendant intentionally, knowingly or recklessly caused bodily injury to another or that the defendant intentionally or knowingly caused another to reasonably fear imminent bodily injury.
Assault is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days if the state can prove that the defendant intentionally or knowingly caused physical contact with another and a reasonable person would regard the contact as extremely offensive or provocative.
What is an aggravated assault in Tennesse?
In Tenneasee, a person can be charged with an aggravated assault under the following circumstances:
1. Intentionally or knowingly commits an assault and causes serious bodily injury or uses or display a deadly weapon;
2. Recklessly commits an assault and causes serious bodily injury to another or uses or displays a deadly weapon;
3. Being the parent or custodian of a child or the custodian of an adult, intentionally or knowingly fails or refuses to protect the child or adult from an aggravated assault or aggravated child abuse.
4. After having been enjoined or restrained by an order, diversion or probation agreement of a court of competent jurisdiction from in any way causing or attempting to cause bodily injury or in any way committing or attempting to commit an assault against an individual or individuals, intentionally or knowingly attempts to cause or causes bodily injury or commits or attempts to commit an assault against the individual or individuals.
5. Intentionally causes physical injury to a public employee of a transportation system, public or private, whose operation is authorized by title 7, chapter 56, while the public employee is performing a duty within the scope of the public employee's employment or while the transportation system employee is performing an assigned duty on, or directly related to, the operation of a transit vehicle.
What are the penalties for an aggravated assault?
The penalties for aggravated assault range from a maximum of 11 months and 29 days in jail to a maximum of 15 years, depending on the type of aggravated assault.
Silva Law represents clients who are charged with all types of violent crimes including but not limited to assault, aggravated assault, homicide, murder, false imprisonment, kidnapping, robbery and carjacking.
Speak with an experienced Nashville violent crime defense lawyer about your case. Silva Law represents clients in Nashville and the Middle Tennessee area in sessions court and in criminal court for negotiations, motions to suppress and trials. We promise to never stop fighting to you. Silva law offers in-custody visits. To make an appointment with an experienced defense attorney, call 615-258-5541 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
This website is for informational purposes only. Using this site or communicating with Silva Law Group through this site does not form an attorney/client relationship. This site is legal advertising.
Copyright © 2018 LawLawyerTemplate - All Rights Reserved.